Edwards Air Force Base honors STEM volunteers with the Commander's Appreciation and Recognition Event (CARE)

  • Published
  • By Adam Bowles
  • 412th Test Wind Public Affairs

The 412th Test Wing hosted the Commander's Appreciation and Recognition Event (CARE) at Edwards Air Force Base, California, March 4.

"Recognizing our amazing STEM volunteers is extremely important," Helida Vanhoy, STEM Coordinator said. "These volunteers dedicate their personal time to help our 412th TW STEM program as we participate in local K-12 STEM events. This year 53 STEM volunteers were invited."

Ultimately, our local K-12 grade students benefit from all the hard work of these volunteers, she said.

The CARE is an annual event that Brig. Gen. Matthew Higer, 412th TW Commander, utilizes to express his appreciation to STEM volunteers. The event could be any subject or recognition and are planned by the Wing Protocol Office. 

412th Test Wing STEM’s vision is to be the enterprise for engineering expertise providing world class technical capability and discipline, testing the tools that enable warfighter success. Air Force STEM’s goal is the education and appreciation of engineering and technical disciplines leading to a workforce that is technically proficient in the advancement of system test for the warfighter.

STEM volunteers recognized:

Abraham, SrA Jermel H. Jr.

Agbeyibor, Maj Richard

Ali, Mohd

Ascencio, Ms. Marcea M.

Bailey, SrA Cameron

Barricklow, 2d Lt Joshua G.

Berger, John

Blevins-Baluyut, Mary

Brunell, SSgt David

Buckreis, Richard

Cantrell, Mrs. Kim

Casem, Giancarlo T

Chambreau, Ph.D., Steven D.

Chavez, Matthew

Duraccio, Johnny

Eyre, Nathan

Franco, Katherine

Gomez, David

Gordon, Col Randel J.

Heinz, TSgt Joshua D.

Hern, Ronald

Hoang, Vu

Huntington, Mr. Harlan

Jhu, Grace

Kelly, Brian

Kocher, MSgt Opal I

Kruszewski, Ms. Lauren A.

Kunesh, SSgt Kollen

Lang, Candace

Lee, Mr. Chiawei

Lundgren, TSgt Jonathan

Maceo, Ms. Christine

Mancillas, Marcus

Manuel, SSgt Francis Paul

Martinez Melchor, Oscar

McCoy-Wellner, Tracy

Muniz, Mrs. Julie

Neilson, MSgt Jeremy E.

Orr, Rebecca

Otero, Carol

Patel, Rodha

Peterson, Ms. Wendy

Powel, SrA Rendall

Powell, A1C Deserie

Shaterian, Mr. Crosby

Stiles, Brandon

Thomas, Mr. Jared

Thornton, Maj Angela

Torres, Sara L.

Uribe, Ms. Monica H.

Vander Hyde, Mr. Kriss C.

Velasquez, Michelle

Ward Swanigan, CMSgt. Denisha S.

Wuth, Mr. Theodore