AFMC Command News

Hanscom personnel honored with acquisition and leadership awards

  • Published
  • By K. Houston Waters
  • 66th Air Base Group Public Affairs

HANSCOM AIR FORCE BASE, Mass. – The Air Force Materiel Command and Air Force Life Cycle Management Center have recognized numerous Hanscom acquisition professionals for excellence in acquisition and leadership.

Military members and Department of the Air Force civilian employees in the Digital Directorate and the Command, Control, Communications, Intelligence and Networks Directorate, both headquartered here, won 2022 Acquisition Excellence and Leadership Awards for outstanding service as program managers and acquisition staff officers.

The highly competitive awards recognize individuals and teams that exhibit excellence in managing and implementing Air Force acquisition programs.

From the Digital Directorate, Capt. George Michalke was named the Outstanding Acquisition Manager in the O-3 and below category, and Capt. Ryan Torno was named the Outstanding Program Management in the Special Interest Services Acquisition Category IV-V category.

For Torno, who serves as a program manager of the Distributed Common Ground System/Global Network Systems branch in the Command and Control, Intelligence, Surveillance, and Reconnaissance Division, the award was particularly meaningful.

“It’s a great honor to have won this award, and to be able to showcase all of the progress and contributions that our recently formed branch has made to the Air Force’s DCGS and to the ISR data processing and dissemination backbone,” he said. “A huge thanks goes out to our entire Network Infrastructure Transformation team here at Hanscom, which makes it all happen.”

Michalke also won his award for service to Air Force Global Network Systems. In 2021, he spearheaded nearly two dozen projects valued at an estimated $177 million. These efforts delivered ISR capabilities to six combatant commands, supported $2.9 billion worth of weapons systems, and enabled anti-terrorism operations worldwide.

“I work with incredibly talented people and have senior leaders who foster an atmosphere that allows us to succeed,” he said. “It was an honor to receive this award and to be recognized for what we accomplished.”

On the Air Force civilian side, Erica Meyer was named the Outstanding Acquisition Staff Civilian for her work in Digital’s Program Executive Group, and Michelle McCarthy was named Outstanding Program Management Acquisition Category III Civilian for her support to the C2ISR Division.

In fiscal year 2021, Meyer assisted the Office of the Secretary of Defense for Acquisition with devising innovative acquisition pathways for 10 applications in the Kessel Run Software Acquisition portfolio, saving the Air Force over $1.5 billion.

“I am extremely honored for this recognition, as it highlights the hard work the Digital PEG does across the Directorate,” she said.

Meyer said she is looking forward to applying what she learned in Digital to her new role in the Rapid Capabilities Office, headquartered in Washington D.C.

McCarthy was recognized for her time with the DCGS/GNS branch, where she devised three-dimensional computer-aided design models in support of the development of the Advanced Battle Management System, integrated the first-ever machine-assisted target reorganization capability for the Air Force, and increased training in artificial intelligence and machine learning in the Directorate.

Following her time at Hanscom, McCarthy also transitioned to the RCO, where she serves as a deputy program manager.

In addition to the individual honors, Digital also won several team awards. The Distributed Common Ground System Test Team took home the 2021 AFMC Tester of the Year award and the Nuclear and Fixed Site Force Protection Acquisition Branch of the Force Protection Division won the AFLCMC First Quarter Award in the Large Team category.

From C3I&N, Maj. Kyle Stewart received the Gen. Larry O. Spencer Innovation Award for his engineering support of the Special Programs Division.

The annual award was named after former Vice Chief of Staff of the Air Force Gen. Larry O. Spencer, and recognizes the individual or team that demonstrates innovation in cost and manpower savings to improve efficiency, operational readiness, and replication of innovation across the Air Force enterprise.