Air Force Featured Stories

Airmen honor legacy of former CSAF by earning the Gen. Lew Allen Jr. Award

  • Published
  • By Staff Sgt. Rusty Frank
  • Secretary of the Air Force Public Affairs
Three Airmen received the Gen. Lew Allen Jr. Award from Chief of Staff of the Air Force Gen. David L. Goldfein, during a ceremony at the Pentagon, Arlington, Va., April 27, 2018.

“I’m honored for this opportunity to recognize you as some of our top Air Force professionals [who are] living and breathing the logistics business,” said Goldfein. “Our award recipients epitomize a fighting spirit, of pushing through challenges, of leading Airmen to great tasks and of continual improvement. The mission quite frankly can’t happen without you, and you make the impossible, possible.”

This year’s recipients are:
- Lt. Col. Andrew Huntoon, 57th Maintenance Group, Nellis Air Force Base, Nevada, who was unable to attend the ceremony but will receive his award from Vice Chief of Staff of the Air Force Gen. Stephen Wilson at a later date.
- Senior Master Sgt. Edward Crissen, 509th Aircraft Maintenance Squadron, Whiteman AFB, Missouri,
- Capt. David A. Martin, 48th Logistics Readiness Squadron, RAF Lakenheath, England and
- Senior Master Sgt. Yusef A. Saad, 39th Logistics Readiness Squadron, Incirlik Air Base, Turkey.

The award recipients said it was an honor to receive such a prestigious award, giving credit to their Airmen.

“[These awards] are made possible by the hard work and dedication of the outstanding NCO’s and Airmen that I am privileged to lead,” said Saad. “I’m still at a loss for words, but thank you to all that serve and get after this nation’s business. Now, more than ever we need to bond together and keep our core values and creed.”

The annual award, named after the 10th CSAF, recognizes the performance and accomplishments of logistics readiness officers and NCOs.