Air Force Featured Stories

Vaught visionary leadership award winners named

  • Published
  • By Kat Bailey
  • Air Force‚Äôs Personnel Center Public Affairs
Air Force officials have selected the winners for the 2018 General Wilma Vaught Visionary Leadership Award.

In the officer category, the winner is Maj. Janel Black of Air Force Global Strike Command. Chief Master Sgt. Nicole Wilson, Pacific Air Forces, is the enlisted category winner. Deanna Ryals, Air Force Space Command won the civilian category.

The Brig. Gen. Wilma Vaught Visionary Leadership Award was created in 2012 in honor of Vaught for her outstanding service and dedication to the Air Force and the nation both during her career and after her retirement.

The selection board, held at the Air Force’s Personnel Center Oct. 24 to Nov. 9, 2017, considered 21 nominations from the major commands. The award winners will be honored at the Joint Women’s Leadership Symposium in early 2018.

For more information about Air Force personnel programs, go to myPers. Eligible individuals who do not have a myPers account can request one by following these instructions.