An official website of the United States government
Here's how you know
A .mil website belongs to an official U.S. Department of Defense organization in the United States.
A lock (lock ) or https:// means you’ve safely connected to the .mil website. Share sensitive information only on official, secure websites.

Air Force Featured Stories

Officials announce 12 OAY Award winners for 2017

  • Published
  • By Staff Sgt. Alexx Pons
  • Air Force Personnel Center Public Affairs
Air Force officials have named the service's top enlisted members, announcing the 12 Outstanding Airmen of the Year for 2017.

An Air Force selection board at the Air Force Personnel Center considered 36 nominees who represented major commands, direct reporting units, field operating agencies and Headquarters Air Force. The board selected the final 12 Airmen based on superior leadership, job performance and personal achievements.

The 12 Outstanding Airmen of the Year for 2017 (listed alphabetically by major command):

Senior Master Sgt. Raymond T. Artis Jr., Pacific Air Forces
Senior Airman Kaitlyn J. Callahan, Air Force Global Strike Command
Senior Airman Brittany F. Fuentes, Air Mobility Command
Master Sgt. Johann Ko, Air Force Reserve Command
Staff Sgt. Stephen F. Lapointe, Air Force Special Operations Command
Master Sgt. Joshua D. Malyemezian, Air Combat Command
Senior Airman Nicole A. Moore, Air Education and Training Command
Tech. Sgt. Jason D. Selberg, Air National Guard
Senior Airman Kacper I. Sovinski, Air Force District of Washington
Master Sgt. Michael J. Stevens, Air Force Materiel Command
Master Sgt. Ashley T. Strong, Air Force Space Command
Staff Sgt. Kyle T. Wilson, United States Air Forces in Europe

The winners are authorized to wear the Outstanding Airman of the Year Ribbon with the bronze service star device on the ribbon. They are also authorized to wear the Outstanding Airman of the Year badge for one year from the date of formal presentation. The remaining 24 nominees will also be authorized wear of the OAYR.

Additional award information and responsibilities are available via myPers. Select “any” from the dropdown menu and search “12 OAY.”

For more information about Air Force personnel programs, go to myPers. Individuals who do not have a myPers account can request one by following these instructions.